My Mother’s Grandmother’s Potato Salad

You may ask why this isn’t simply called “My Great Grandmother’s Potato Salad.” Whenever my mom asked me to make this for her, she always said “My Grandmother’s Potato Salad.” When my sister asked her, “Why don’t you call her ‘Great Grandmother?’ Around us, you call your husband ‘Dad’ and your father ‘Grandpa’,” she replied, “We don’t really talk about her as your Great Grandmother, and I’ve always known her as my Grandmother.” So, in light of this, I’ve titled this potato salad “My Mother’s Grandmother’s Potato Salad.”

Ingredients:

  • 4 or 5 cups “Yellow Skin” Potatoes
  • 2 tbsp Lime Juice
  • 2 tbsp Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 cup Green Onions with Tops
  • 1/4 cup Dill Pickles
  • 1 cup Chopped Celery
  • 4 Eggs
  • Mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp Mustard

Directions:

  • Before beginning on the rest of the potato salad, hard boil the eggs
  • Cook the potatoes in water until fork tender
  • Slice the potatoes into chunks
  • In a large bowl, gently mix potatoes, lime juice, oil, and salt
  • Chop the pickles fine, and chop the celery and the green onions
  • Add these to the large bowl and mix gently
  • In a small bowl, mix the mustard with a decent amount of mayonnaise (The end total of mayonnaise should be enough to lightly coat the salad, but not be too prominent), and add to the bowl. Continue adding additional mayonnaise until salad is coated.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment